Internship

This is my internship semester, and it has been going well. Now I am co-facilitating a group called MADRES or “Mothers.” This group is for Latinas who are struggling with the demands of being mothers, especially in this country were they are minorities. We bring cultural aspects of Mexico so they can think of how they are using the traditions of their culture to empower themselves. My role is to bring a mindfulness exercise to the group. I enjoy the fact that we are teaching them very concrete parenting skills, but also mindfulness exercises so they can develop awareness on their behaviors as mothers.

I am also taking a Solution Focused Brief Therapy (SFBT) training and having six individual clients. I am planning to write a paper on how to use evidence based practice like SFBT without compromising my contemplative approach to therapy. By meditating and maintaining an open mind when I am in session is one of the ways I feel I am accomplishing this goal.

–Diane

Leave a Reply

